Report from the Board of Trustees

May 8, 2024

The Board of Trustees met in person in Philadelphia on May 7, 2024 with two open gallery sessions.

The board received reports from the President and the President’s Cabinet, including the departments of Academics and Student Life, Advancement, Finance, Operations, Strategic Marketing and Communications, and Kindling Faith Continuing Education.

The board also received reports from Rev. Dr. Javier Goitia representing the ELCA and Rev. Jeff Lausten representing TULSAA, followed by Rev. Dr. Allison deForest and Rev. Dr. Quintin Robertson representing the Faculty and finally Mo Goff and Hannah Tonn representing the students.

Mr. David Russell presented the Resource Development and Financial Management Committee report. The board passed a motion to relieve a debt held by the seminary to the benefit of the Seminary Ridge Museum. The board also adopted the proposed tuition and fees schedule for the 2024-2025 academic year.

Mr. Russell also presented the United Lutheran Seminary Endowment Foundation report.

Mr. Fred Risser presented the report of the LTSP Reconstituted Board.

Mrs. Karen Arnold presented the report of the Executive Committee. The board approved a motion to elect Dr. Teresa L. Smallwood, the James Franklin Kelly and Hope Eyster Kelly Associate Profession of Public Theology, to a five-year term as Dean of the Seminary and Vice President for Academic Affairs beginning July 1, 2024.

Pastor Constance Mentzer presented the Governance, Infrastructure and Policy Committee report.  

Dr. Tommie Robinson presented the report of the Academic Affairs committee. The board approved three motions: First, that tenure be granted to Dr. Natalia Marandiuc, Associate Professor of Systematic Theology, effective July 1, 2025. Second, that promotion be granted to the Rev. Dr. Storm Swain, The Frederick Houk Borsch Associate Professor of Anglican Studies, Pastoral Care and Theology to Full professor, effective July 1, 2024.

Pastor Sara Lilja presented the report for the Enrollment Services and Student Life Committee.


Reports from the Board Chair